The Life of a Paleonista (Week 1)

What was the hardest part of my first week gone Paleo???? The amount of work it takes to eat a healthy complete whole meal! Yesterday it looked like a bomb went off in my kitchen and that bombs goes off at least 3x a day! It is easier to make everything yourself instead of trying to figure out if it is Paleo or not. I am used to eating a spicy diet (true Latina) but being Paleo means no more bottled/jarred stuff…. what is a spicy girl to do? Make her own salsa! It came out delicious! It is wonderful playing with ingredients and creating delicious foods. As I type I have a morning “porridge” blooming: 1/2 a yam, 1 banana, 1tbs chia seeds, almond milk and shredded coconut. Paleo living requires to think about your food and flavors. I LOVE IT!!! Ok let me repeat this statement I LOVE IT! I am thriving with this new lifestyle! I need rules, I need perimeters, I need guidelines! I also love all the research and reading this lifestyle change is causing me to do. I feel I become more aware and learning new information! I will be taking progress pics today but regardless of the outcome I am in for at least the rest of Lent. 39 days to go!!!!!

Dinner: Shredded Beef, Spanish “Rice,” Plantain Chips, and Salsa

Image

Here is my salsa recipe:

4 anaheim chillies

6 serrano chillies

5 cloves of garlic

1/2 large sweet onion

6 tomatilos

2 large tomatoes

Preheat oven to 400

Wash all produce. Place the anahheim chillies on a cookie sheet and put them in the oven until charred on both sides. about 20 mins flip half way through and keep checking. Place everything else in a pot of water and boil until soft. Remove the stems and place everything in the blender and blend to desired consistency. Add sea salt to taste and your done!

HAPPY DIPPING

~ by underemployedbutoverstimulated on February 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
